top of page

Join our mailing list

Never miss an update

Our Mission
Bettering the 10th district by hosting events, informative workshops, cultural affairs, and providing scholarships.

Welcome to the Official Website for the 10th Council District Women's Steering Committee

10th Council District Women's Steering Committee in

Partnership with East West Bank Foundation

42nd Annual Awards and Scholarship Luncheon

Mistress of Ceremony

Karla Gordy Bristol

CEO of Bristol Entertainment Group (introduced by her mother) 

Ms. Iris Gordy, former VP of Motown Records

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Kathryn E. Jeffery, PhD

President of Santa Monica College


Dr. Cecil L. "Chip" Murray, PhD

Cecil Murray Center for Community Engagement, USC

Ana Guerrero

Chief of Staff for Mayor Eric Garcetti

Emily Wang

President of East West Bank Foundation and Senior Vice President of EWB

Congratulatory Letters from the following:

President, Los Angeles City Council Member Tenth District

Herb J. Wesson, Jr.

Mayor of Los Angeles Eric Garcetti

Senator Holly  Mitchell

Senator Dianne Feinstein

Congresswoman Karen Bass


Chairman of the Board

Supervisor, 2nd District

Mark Ridley-Thomas

Board of Supervisors Janice Hahn


Denny's (on Crenshaw)

His & Her Hair Goods Co.


East West Bank Foundation

LA Sentinel

Law & Mediation Offices of Elizabeth Yang

Los Angeles World Airports

NAACP Beverly Hills Chapter

Porsche of Downtown LA

Suites Events

The Proud Food Bazaar & Events Center 

The Workforce Pro


US Bank

Our Mission

Our organization is a 501 ©(3) non-profit, non-partisan association of women working to improve the quality of life within the 10th Council District of Los Angeles. We promote and support the civic participation and leadership of women who live, work, worship or attend school in the 10th Council District. Our signature program is the annual Geneva Cox Scholarship Awards (formerly known as the Johnabel Gentry Scholarship program) has for 31 years provided scholarships to high school students within the 10th Council District (CD10).

Our Board

President & CEO, Jackie Nunn
Phone: 323-735-0879

President & CEO

Jacqueline (Jackie) Nunn


Vice President of Sales & Marketing

Sharlene Mosley


Vice President of Corporate Affairs

Julie Cox



Pamela Swearingen



Heather Ward



Geneva Cox


Advisory Board

Joann Fleming                                                                 

Joan Jackson                                                              

Delcia Peart                                                                       

Georgia Pettis                                                                       

Dolores Smith

Our Board

In October 1973, Tenth District Councilman Dave Cunningham and Chief of Staff Maxine Waters gave Geneva Cox, Aide, her assignment of bringing together a cross section of women of the 10th Council District to meet with the Councilman and Chief of Staff. Noted caterer, Frankie Bell, volunteered to donate her home and lunch for the get together, which was held on March 16, 1974.


Chief of Staff, now Congresswoman Maxine Waters, explained the reason for calling the women together we could accomplish a great deal. With our varying backgrounds we could make the 10th District an outstanding District


Committees were appointed to implement the organization of women’s group, which became the 10th Council District Women’s Steering Committee.

Under the leadership of Geneva Cox our first conference, “Women in Leadership -How We Can Best Serve Our Community-Woman”. A Catalyst for Social Change” was held at City Hall on Saturday, September 21, 1974. The conference was designed for women who wish to develop skills as professionals or volunteers in the schools, community, government, and private industry.


The conferences were held at City Hall yearly until 1989 when an earthquake limited the use of City Hall. The group then started holding seminars and workshops in various facilities in the District and City. The first general membership meeting was held Saturday, March 22, 1975, at the Ebony Showcase Theater and Cultural Arts Center. The group was incorporated on January 3, 1979, under the Secretary of State of California, March Fong Eu. On July 22, 2014, the 10th Council District Women’s Steering Committee was incorporated as a 501 © (3) non-profit corporation/organization.


Over the years the 10th District W.S.C. has held informative workshops, field trips, cultural affairs, theatre parties, provided scholarships, networked with other women’s groups, civic, religious, political organizations; held Easter Egg hunts, Christmas parties and toy giveaways.


Many members have been honored, received awards, and served on city and county commissions and committees. Two members: Ramona Whitney and Geneva Cox for the 10th Council District. The Queen Anne Recreation Center’s Community Building was dedicated to Hattie Williams Brown: Jackie Calloway was appointed by Mayor Bradley and Councilman Cunningham as the first president of the Rent Control Board; Martha Yamaki served as a Rent  Adjustment Commissioner; Louise Mize received Anheuser Busch’s Dr. Martin Luther King Award; Dr. Marion Sims recognized in the L.A. Times for raising a family, pursuing a career, and work in the Civil Rights Movement; Margery Ferrier was the first Senior Citizens Coordinator for the Tenth District under Councilman David Cunningham. Lettie Butler was founder of the West Adams Improvement Association; Maria Spurlock-Drew received a 10th District Commendation for her work in public relations. Marvin Avenue School dedicated the library in the memory of Helen Ludiway, Eleanora Yancey received the L.A. NAACP Volunteer of the Year Award. Thelma Hilliard has been recognized as Woman of the Year for the 74th District by Assemblyman Herb Wesson, Gladys Wesson-Strickland “Woman of the Year 2000”, and Alicia Salazar as “Woman of the Year 2004”; Marion Collins as Educator of the Year and Joan Jackson as Volunteer of the Year. Ethel Bradley, Sylvia Cunningham, Maxine Waters and Geneva Cox has been recognized Honorary Members of the 10th Council District Women’s Steering Committee.

PIONEER WOMEN OF THE 10TH COUNCIL DISTRICT AWARDS: Virginia Hayes Williams, Joan Jackson, Jackie Calloway, Eleanora Yancey, Sebie S. Browne, Marion Collins and Audrey Quarles.

SPECIAL HONORS & ACHIEVEMENTS: The Women’s Steering Committee was given the William Grant Still “Trailblazer Award”. On June 24, 2014, the members of the 10th Council District W.S.C. were invited by Council President Herb Wesson and honored before the entire City Council at Los Angeles City Hall for their outstanding contributions to the community. Past President Rosa Russell (1998-2008) was elected President of the 54th Assembly District Democratic Club. Joann Fleming was President from 2009-2012. Connye Thomas has served as President of the 10th Council District W.S.C. since 2013-2014. Jacqueline Nunn was elected President in 2015; she is still serving her term through 2017.

Our History

Our History

Membership is open to any woman and person in the 10th District who have an interest in improvement in of our community. If you're interested in becoming a Members, you may click here to download an application.


Membership Fees: $50 per year or $200 for a Lifetime Membership

We meet on the 4th Saturday of every month at the Nate Holden Performing Arts Center located at 4718 Washington Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90016.

Become a Member

Become a Member



Contact Us

Jackie Nunn, President
Phone: (323) 735-0879 or (323) 371-1071
Email: 10thcouncildistrictwomen'
Julie Cox, VP of Education
Phone: (323 309-7321
Contact Us

Success! Message received.

bottom of page